photo, Arun Maiya

IDA presents the Andrew J. Goodpaster Award for Excellence in Research to individuals who demonstrate intellectual leadership within the IDA community. The 2021 winner of the Goodpaster Award is Arun Maiya of the IDA Systems and Analyses Center.


photo, Peter Levine

This is the tenth year IDA has given the Larry D. Welch Award, which honors individuals whose external publications exemplify General Welch’s high standards of analytic excellence and relevance. The award recognizes the best external publication related to IDA business areas—or associated disciplines that form the building blocks of our expertise—appearing in peer-reviewed journals or other professional publications, including books and monographs. The winner of the 2021 Welch Award is Defense Management Reform: How to Make the Pentagon Work Better and Cost Less by IDA Senior Fellow Peter Levine.

Norty Schwartz 

The IDA President’s Award for Excellence recognizes sustained superior performance by a non-exempt staff member over a significant period of time that contributes significantly to IDA’s success. Jennifer Cherry of IDA’s Information Technology and Security Directorate is the 2020 winner.


W.Y. Smith Award 

The W. Y. Smith Award for Excellence recognizes outstanding contributions by non-research exempt staff members. The 2020 winners, from IDA’s Information Technology and Security Directorate, are Justin Belanger, Michelle “Micky” Celich, Justin Doescher, Chris Faber, Tom Hurrell, Chris Murphy, Chellye Promen, Rob Ritenour, Travis Roelke, Farzana Saleem, Tracy Stieber, and Warren Zabloudil.


David S.C. Chu 

The David S. C. Chu Award for Research Excellence was established in 2020 to honor a Research Associate who has made one or more outstanding analytic contributions in support of IDA’s mission. Julia Warshafsky of the Information Technology and Systems Division is the winner of the 2021 David S. C. Chu Award for Excellence in Research, named in honor of the former IDA President.