Larry D. Welch Award for Best External Publication Archives

Larry D. Welch

The Larry D. Welch Award was established in 2011 to honor individuals whose external publications exemplify retired U.S. Air Force general and former IDA President Welch's high standards of analytic excellence and relevance. The award recognizes the best external publication related to IDA business areas — or associated academic disciplines that form the building blocks of our expertise — appearing in peer-reviewed journals or other professional publications, including books and monographs.

Below is a list of past recipients.


  • 2015 Jeremy Teichman, STD, and Lee Hirsch, STD
  • 2014 Carl Gaither, Dawn Loper, Chris Jackson, OED, and Jasmina Pozderac (formerly OED)
  • 2013 Kent Haspert, STD, and Mike Tuley, STD
  • 2012 Kevin Woods, JAWD