

2023 W. Y. Smith Award for Excellence

ALEXANDRIA, VA (April 2024) – Jacqueline "Jackie" Evans, Linda Garlet, Cary Dier, Sarah Berry and Erika Tildon are recipients of the 2023 W. Y. Smith Award. This award recognizes extraordinary individual or group contributions to IDA from the wide range of non-research staff members who contribute mightily to our success.

The team played a pivotal role in producing IDA's self-assessment inputs for the Department of Defense comprehensive review of SAC, which is required to renew the SAC contract. Their behind-the-scenes work formed the bedrock upon which our future five years of remarkable research accomplishments will stand. They coordinated with others at IDA to deliver the largest and most detailed self-assessment in IDA's history.

"It is with great pride that we recognize the tremendous accomplishments of Jackie, Linda, Cary, Sarah and Erika," said IDA President Norty Schwartz. "The recent self-assessment was by far the most comprehensive and ambitious undertaking of its kind ever attempted by IDA. It was an exceptional effort by a highly competent and dedicated team."

The team's contributions were indispensable to the success of IDA's self-assessment for this comprehensive review. Their efforts illustrate the kind of cross-organizational collaboration that underpins our best products in support of IDA's mission.

IDA is a nonprofit corporation that operates three federally funded research and development centers in the public interest. IDA answers the most challenging U.S. security and science policy questions with objective analysis leveraging extraordinary scientific, technical and analytic expertise.

